“If we did all the things we are capable of doing, we would literally astound ourselves.”   Thomas Edison

Who am I? Nobody you’d recognize. You could walk right by me in the grocery store and not notice. I live in a tiny suburban house on a very tight budget. I don’t have acres of land, an underground shelter or a basement pantry (or even a basement, for that matter).

But I have a core role in my family. I am morally, legally, ethically, emotionally and spiritually obligated to take care of them to the best of my ability. I welcome that, embrace it. My family is a blessing to me and I want things to be good for them as much as possible.

For me that includes “prepping:”  stocking up on food, water, medicines, seeds and other necessities. It also means learning skills to become increasingly self-reliant and preparing myself and my family to deal with emergency situations.

Do I do this out of fear? No. A resounding “NO,” in fact.  And it’s not just for my own family: the more we are prepared within our household, the more that ripples out into our larger community, too.

I’ve run into many people who equate preparedness with fear. They focus on that fear, using it as either a reason to prep or a reason to avoid it. But it shouldn’t be that way. Doesn’t have to be that way. And that’s why I began this blog. I want to encourage people to step out, prepare wisely and be of good cheer going into the future.

I have to admit, I am a little nervous beginning this blog; this is totally new and different for me. But I also feel strongly that this needs to be said, that fear is not allowed to reign. So I am going to lead where I’m trying to encourage others to follow and step out on a new path. A life and a blog in progress. I hope you’ll come along.

